CD Album + Cover Handmade Artwork Project.

As promised, It’s time to reveal my very first handmade CD album including the artwork etc.. Basically the story behind it is I got the inspiration from the awesome film ‘Nick + Norah’s Infinite Playlist’ and I knew Shane wanted but didn’t have time to download for himself the newest Deftones album ‘Diamond Eyes’ which was released this May. So I decided to give it a try, and I really like the results! It makes a wonderful handmade gift or birthday present or just an awesome earth friendly way of keeping your albums pretty without all the plastic casing etc.


(Click to enlarge photographs)

It’s so simple to create the case, all you need is flimsy enough card but not to flimsy – it needs to have some sturdiness to it! Get the layout of a CD case and glue the necessary folds together. The artwork inside is completely up to yourself and same for the booklet of lyrics! I actually wrote all the lyrics out by hand.. It adds a bit more love into it and shows I care and whatnot:] It was really fun and easy to make, I’m definitely keeping up this project with any albums I download in the future.. Makes my collection more personal as well!

Go and try for yourself, you’ll be amazed how simple it is.. You don’t even need to be that arty to create this little wonder!

6 thoughts on “CD Album + Cover Handmade Artwork Project.

  1. Jesssssi says:

    I love this idea. If you don’t mind me asking, where did you find the plastic tray to glue to the cardstock? I can’t find them anywhere without buying the case as a whole… :(

    • Sylvie says:

      I found some old cd cases I wasn’t using so I took them apart for this project. You can buy them as a separate tray I’m sure, you could try stationary shops or just keep an eye out for any old cases that people you may know are throwing them out? Sorry i’m not much of a help! Hope your project goes well:)xoxo

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

