I promised..

Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)
Okay so I started with drawing out my design onto fabric that hand dye would take to well.. It’s best to keep it simple if it’s your first time doing Batik. Colours can run and it can get messy. Plus its a huge time consumer, mine has taken me two days and they still aren’t finished!

Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C) Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)

Then using my mums hotplate I melted a few candles down and used the wax (red in this case) to paint over the images I didn’t want the particular colour I was going to dye the background with.

Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)

I then submerged the fabric into a bowl of green dye for the elephants and blue for the jellyfish. I waited for about an hour and let it drip dry naturally. Then using an iron I ironed off the wax and hand painted the elephant’s on my first batik. I still haven’t finished my Jellyfish batik-whoops! I let it dry naturally in the sun:]
Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)Sylvia Walsh Photography 2010 (C)

And here is the Jellyfish batik, currently not finished. And my elephant batik is almost finished.. I just need to wax off the red edges to the elephants and sew the edges. Sorry this post is abit all over the place. It looks much neater in my draughts, I want the blog page to be wider but haven’t found a good theme yet… xoxo.

2 thoughts on “I promised..

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

