Early morning hike

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©
This morning I was woken early around half eight to an excited little brother banging on about the snow. Not teige, Alex in fact. So when I decided that it would be lovely to, after my breakfast, take a little stroll up the mountain he suddenly changed his mind complaining it would be too cold. So I asked my trusty sidekick Teige to tag along (”Okay!!”) and as planned, after breakkie we rugged up in woolies and trudged through the snow towards the mountains.

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©

Good thing I got my gloves finished in time, it was BALTIC out there!! Teige was eager to have a snowball fight but couldn’t shape the snow ball right, I had to show him in the end and still no luck. So we gave up on that idea fairly sharpish and he wrote his name next to mine in the snow. We found many animal tracks, the cutest having to be the little bird feet! The tracks on my roof are all swirls, the bird seemed not to have a clue where he was going! We found what we though (I pretended) to be a big grizzly bear (big wooly looking cow!) scaring Teigey only a little. He thought he’d be safe because a small electric fence was between us and the grizzly..(cow) Teige has a lot to learn!
Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©
Luckily we escaped the grizzly(!) and made our way past a frozen little pond, which I really hope stays frozen till this weekend! We made it up to the top of the mountain where the snow was thickest, and Teige celebrated by stretching his arms wide screaming ”CA-CAWW!!”  at the top of his lungs, then did it many times after because he was so amazed by the echo it created. :]

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©

 

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

