Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©

D.I.Y: How to Make Bath Bombs. (Lush Inspired)

During my little christmas gift making sessions I stumbled across some rather lovely recipes for bath bits, like homemade body scrub, lip balms and bath bombs! I’ll show you the easiest recipe I could find with some simple step by steps on how to make your own little bubblies.

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©

*Luckily, most of these ingredients should already be in your kitchen cupboards*

 

What you will need:

1 and 1 half cup of Baking Soda (Bicarbonate of Soda)

1 half cup of Lemon Juice (Citric Acid)

2 teaspoons of Sunflower Oil

1 teaspoon of water

5 drops of food colouring (red,blue or yellow works best)

10-15 drops of Essential Oils (I used Lotus Flower E. Oil)

 

*Depending on your desired size this should make seven small bombs, or two large bombs*

 

Steps to take to make your bombs:

1. Mix the baking soda and the teaspoon of water together in to a large bowl and stir untill mixed. Add the Citric acid slowly making sure to well mix into a thick fizzing mix. (it will froth up, it’s the fizzing reaction your bombs should make when they are placed in a hot bath)
2. Drizzle the Sunflower oil in all over the mix and stir well. Add a little bit more oil if the mix is too crumbly. You need it too be crumbly and slightly wet/sticky but not so it sticks completely to your hands, you need it to slide into and out of a mould with ease.
3. Add the food colouring and stir in, use a little if you want a light colour or a lot of you want a strong colour.
4. Add the essential oils well and stir like crazy. You need the scent to mix in and get into every last bit of the mix!
5. Roll mixture into a ball and press into a lightly oiled mould. (I used my hands to create rough looking ball shapes first then I used plastic heart shapes for the second time around, pushing the mould in hard.)

6. Let the mixture harden slightly in the mould or leave in the mould for as long as you feel comfortable with. I left mine in for about five minutes before tapping the moulds with a spoon and gently lifting off one top of the mould,flipping it over into my palm and lifting the other side off.

7. When your bombs have been taken out of the moulds let them naturally dry on waxed paper or grease-proof paper for about three to four days.
try not to handle them too much during the drying process!

And there you have it! Your very own home made Lush inspired Fizzing Bath Bombs!

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©
My first batch for me where a bit hit and miss, I wasn’t accurate with the measurements of baking powder and citric acid (which is crucial if you want it too work!)
Another tip is to try not to let it froth too much when you are adding the citric acid in, I know it can’t be helped but the more it froths in the bowl the less it will froth in the bath!

Give it a try, it’s really so simple and fun!

Sylvia Walsh 2010 ©

I’m off for the night, I’m going to attack my sewing machine with ideas for a camera pouch-bag and strap!
XOXO! ♥

2 thoughts on “D.I.Y: How to Make Bath Bombs. (Lush Inspired)

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

