Red Velvet *updated*

Happy Mother’s Day! I hope all the mom’s and grandmoms out there are being spoilt with hugs, kisses and cake!

Speaking of cake, last night I wanted to have a little practise at making Red Velvet cup cakes, I’ve always been curious of them as they’re meant to be delicious, plus my favourite shop is called Red Velvet and I just had too! Elsie would be proud :)

Sylvia Walsh 2011 ©

Well let me tell you, it is incredibly fun to make, with all the ingredients and colours. I loved baking them! They taste so rich and divine too. Yum. I made 20 of the red velvet cakes last night in the early hours, they had vanilla cream cheese frosting on them too to add to that extra yumminess. Me being me, made way too much frosting (too much to throw out) so I decided this morning whilst I was still in the baking mood to make another batch of cakes, this time being Mom’s favourite, Carrot cake! Even my brother Alex was helping me with these! It was really fun having everyone in the kitchen dancing away to mum’s music, little Ellie even enjoyed herself! It really reminded me of the end scene in Cher’s film ‘Mermaids’.

The cupcakes turned out so so good. I’m not even kidding I think these were the best yet. Mom’sgot an idea in both our heads too open a little tea + cake shop in Ballingeary village, something sweet and vintagey for everyone with a sweet tooth.. I’ll let this idea sit for a while!

Sylvia Walsh 2011 ©

Oh and by the way, thanks to last nights and this mornigns baking marathon I’ve completed over 10 receipes from my cupcake book! Another one scratched off this list!
XO!

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet *updated*

  1. steffiw says:

    Thankyou my darlings,the cakes were truly good,sorry that my dancin’ wasnt as good as your cookin’but we all had a good afternoon despite me larking about!

  2. Sylvie says:

    I loved your dancing! And so did Ellie by the look on her face:) Chuffed your like them, no hurry up and eat them before teige finds them! xXx

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

