DIY // Project Restyle: Hoodie to Backpack Refashion


I did a wee bit of refashioning for Maria  the other week. One of her favourite hoodies had been outgrown and she couldn’t bear to part with it so she asked me for ideas on what to do with it.. So I made it into a pull string backpack! I got the idea from a hippy bag my mum gave me a few years ago, its like a sack with one long strap that has the strap ends tied off to the bottom of the bag but then it loops around the opening of the top part giving a drawstring effect when you pull it closed, then you pop it on you shoulders and it’s a back pack!

BBasically I cut the arms and hood off and closed off the arm holes with thread, making it into a bag shape, I attached one end of the long strap to the right side of the bag and the other end of the strap the the left side. Using the Loop that the straps now naturally formed I pinned it inside the neck hole and folded the fabric over it leaving about 1cm gap to sew along with fish-line (for sturdyness!) Pull the straps to close the opening into a scrunched looking ring and pull at the scrunched ring to open the bag wider. Simples! XO ♥

6 thoughts on “DIY // Project Restyle: Hoodie to Backpack Refashion

  1. Tracy says:

    I am so glad I found your web site, just wanted to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design)Please do keep up the awesome job.

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

