I like Octopi

I’ve been running hot and cold all day today. I hope i’m not getting sick.. I wouldn’t be surprised really with the weather we’ve been having lately I’m shocked I haven’t been sick already! This picture initially started off as a doodle whilst I waited for another piece to dry but I got so wrapped up in drawing each suction cup on his tentacles before I realised it I had it finished and wanted to keep it. I should keep all my little doodles really, if they end up anything like this little guy anyway. Octopus actually scare me, I have an irrational fear of things that are larger than what I think they should be, especially man-made things. Things that are needlessly enormous. Like skyscrapers or overly large ships, I know they serve a purpose but I just can’t bear the thought of looking up at one. It makes me feel really small, ill and I feel like i’m swaying, the feeling can last for ages too. The same with giant squids and octopi, from that 20,000 leagues under the sea film? There’s a giant squid that entangles itself into a rather large ship and the image forever haunted me.. I’m going to absolutely shit myself when I see the big blue whale in London’s Natural History Museum later this year!

This one kinda speaks for itself really.. I wanted to scan these pages because it’s a new sketchbook I bought specifically for the Autumn as my big scrapbook is actually getting really full (I only have 20 pages left in it!) so I want to mix it up a bit and make my big scrapbook last a little longer. I’m not even sure if I like this one but it’s stuck in now so I guess it must stay. I’m going to be spacing my other pages out a bit in other posts and slowly uploading them to my Tumblr as well. I’ve so many things to do in such short time! XO

 

One thought on “I like Octopi

  1. Pingback: Inspired By Nature

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

