Whirlwind

Now that the whole rush of all that New Years malarky is over I feel like I can post a ‘normal’ blog again! A lot has happened in the last few days, I had a quiet new years in at home planning some really big projects I’ve got my mind on and at midnight we watched the London firework display on the news then smallest brother and I went outside to light sparklers of our own and wish the middle brother happy birthday. He turned 20 on the 1st!

I’ve had the pleasure of spending much needed girl time with one of my most special friends who lives for the most part, in Budapest for college. (I love her blog and so should you!) Katie came home for Christmas and we made sure to kidnap her for a few days before she flew away again. We had a loong catchup over many cups of coffee which no sooner turned into large glasses of Red, Disaronno and dancing around to Florence and the Machine in the moonlit countryside. I provided the dancing (as well as singing!) as I seem to be more of a playful drunk lately.. Katie just brings out that happy girly side to me I guess :)
And of course us being girls many a dmc was had (deep meaningful conversations) and even squeezed a few tears out in between. Katie also came over for Alex’s birthday celebrations and I finally got around to watching the deathly hallows. Gotta love a movie binge! I wont lie, I balled my eyes out when poor Dobby was killed. Naturally everyone laughed at me for doing so! Having Katie over at ours for those few days was like breathing new air. It was exactly what we all needed. Just time together to catch up and remember how good it is to be with close friends. We shared our hopes and dreams for 2012 and got a bit lost flicking though many inspiring art books.

Since then I’ve been feeling especially inspired to kick start the year on good terms. I spent the first day of the new year in the company of some of the loveliest people and have since been spending the past two days organising resolutions, altering dresses and planning projects, in between popping painkillers like skittles. (I’m after injuring my ribcage again so it’s been painful.) Today I went location hunting with Alex for some photography projects we’re working on and ended up in the woods, ankle deep in a swamp! We’re really excited to begin these photography plans, it’s the first time in a long time we’ve collaborated together without fighting. Tomorrow I will be spending most of my day barefoot trolling around in the muddy woodland and no doubt being rained on, all for the sake of a few good pictures. I think it’s worth it! Good night :] xo

One thought on “Whirlwind

  1. Reisling says:

    So not really on the same topic as your post, but I found this today and I just cant resist sharing. Mrs. Agathe’s dishwasher quit working so she called a repairman. Since she had to go to work the next day, she told him, “I’ll leave the key under the mat. Fix the dishwasher, leave the bill on the counter, and I’ll mail you the check. Oh, and by the waydon’t worry about my Doberman. He won’t bother you. But, whatever you do, do NOT under ANY circumstances talk to my parrot!” When the repairman arrived at Mrs. Agathe’s apartment the next day, he discovered the biggest and meanest looking Doberman he had ever seen. But just as she had said, the dog simply laid there on the carpet, watching the repairman go about his business. However, the whole time the parrot drove him nuts with his incessant cursing, yelling and name-calling. Finally the repairman couldn’t contain himself any longer and yelled, “Shut up, you stupid ugly bird!” To which the parrot replied, “Get him, Spike!”

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

