Sweetheart dress.


Hey there :) Last Sunday I blogged about a few items I thrifted at the charity shops and this dress in the above picture was one of them! Only it was a full length skirt up until yesterday morning. I didn’t actually buy it with this dress in mind it sort of just popped into my head yesterday as I cut it in half to make a high-waisted skirt. Knowing that I really don’t suit high-waisted skirts I played around with the left over fabric and decided to make it into a heart-shaped neckline dress instead! I really didn’t think it would be this easy but lo’ and behold, it was finished just after a few hours of tweaking today. I’m quite pleased with this one.
I decided to make use of the thick fog that seemed to have crept up on us out of nowhere, swallowing us up whole. It made for a better back drop than my bedroom walls anyway. This dress feels really snug and soft on, it’s fitted with an invisible zip, bra clasps and removable straps for days when I’m feeling brave, hoho. I’m definitely going to be making more use out of this than I would have had I just left it as a skirt! I still have a few feet of this polka dot fabric left over from making the dress, no doubt it will be used for a clutch bag or something along those lines! I now want to search the world for more floor length granny skirts to transform them into these sweetheart dresses! xo

12 thoughts on “Sweetheart dress.

    • Sylviee says:

      Thank you! :) Yeah it wasn’t the easiest of pictures to take! I had another (bigger) jacket behind the camera for the in-between shots :) and yes, very damp. My hair was soaked by the end of this! :) xo

  1. lace pencil skirt says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as neatly as with the layout in your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like this one nowadays.

  2. Pingback: Olive kaufen
  3. Lura Turriff says:

    Is there a specific term for the type of neckline you have, the way it is cinched? I am trying to figure out how to get that look but I am not sure what it is called. Thanks! Love your Blog from Ontario, Canada

    • Sylviee says:

      Hi! Awe thank you :) Erm I don’t know what it could be called but it’s easy to create yourself by sewing a stretched piece of elastic straight down the middle of the neckline, once you let go of the stretch it brings it up to make the neckline look heart shaped. Hmm, saying that maybe google heart shape neckline could bring some answers! :) x

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

