Beauty Bath Treats

a picture from last years christmas tin I’m still using up!

A while back I was asked about beauty products and what ones I use, specifically ones that aren’t animal tested. Now I know I’m not a beauty blogger but it got me thinking, I don’t use a lot of products as I have very sensitive skin which is prone to drying out a lot and I just never really bothered with the likes of foundation or concealer as I’m lucky to have quite clear skin. One thing I do stand by is Lush’s Hair and skin products, I have never been disappointed with any I have bought and what’s great about them is they are both natural and free of animal testing/chemicals. Expensive yes but with products like they’re BIG shampoo (€14.95 per tub) I’ve found it’s worth the money as a little goes a long way.


Getting more to the point, Some thing I have been experimenting with in the last while is home made products using natural ingrediants that can be found at home in the kitchen, being the crafty sod I am I’m always intrigued to make my own rather than spending money if I don’t need too. In these two cases below, I feel I won’t ever need to buy a body scrub or facial scrub ever again! They are really that good.

*These recipes are from the book ‘Queen of Crafts’ by Jazz Domino Holly’, a must buy for any crafty souls out there!*

Almond, Oat and Honey Face Scrub

You will need: 100ml jar, 2x 1 tbsp almonds and uncooked oats, 5 drops of vitamin E oil, 1 tsp clear honey, water. This makes a small batch that should last 1-3 uses.

1. Grind up the almonds and oats together in a bowl.
2. Add the vitamin e oil, I used a vitamin e capsule instead of buying a new bottle! stir in your honey and add a drop of water to help combine the mixture.

Use your finger tips to gently scrub away at your skin taking care to not aggravate your skin. Use once a week. Clean off with warm water. Use once a week, keep in the fridge when you’re not using it.

Salt Body Scrub

You will need: medium sized kilner jar, 1 cup epsom salts, 1 cup of sea salt, 2 cups of almond oil (or oil of your choice) 6 drops of essential oils ( i used rose oil)

1. In a bowl, combine both the salts together and give it a swirl.
2. Stir in the almond oil and stir. Add the essential oil and stir again.
3. Transfer your mixture to your jar and keep in the fridge in between uses.

Don’t worry if the salts separate from the oil, it’s normal and it wont affect the scrub when in use, just give it a swirl before use and it’s work just fine. Use once or twice a week on wet skin and gently circular motions.

I swear by these. I always use the body scrub since I first made it, I can’t get enough of it and just how heavenly soft my skin is afterwards. No need to go for the moisturiser post-shower I can tell you! The oils in this scrub do your skin wonders, and the rose oil makes it smell amazing! As for the facial scrub, it’s gentle and doesn’t dry out your skin too much, I always moisturise my skin after washes anyway because I have too. The book which I first saw these recipes is amazing as well, I totally recommend any crafty ones out there to go and get yourself a copy! xo

2 thoughts on “Beauty Bath Treats

    • Sylviee says:

      Yes! You can ‘reblog’ the post if your on wordpress yourself. If not you can leave a link to my post in your site and it will direct you :)

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo

