DIY Book safe.

It’s a bit of a nerdy DIY, with a little childishness thrown in but it’s fun to make and cute to keep!This is my second diy post of the year. I’m trying to stick to doing a diy project each week for the year so i’m going good so far! Here I’m going to show you a fun little tutorial on how to make your very own book safe. It’s a little silly but hey its fun!

What you will need: a pretty hardback thick book, a stanely blade, ruler and glue.

Step one.
 If like me you feel guilty for shredding through a perfectly beautiful book, go through the pages and tear out any you want to keep. Then open the first two pages and mark your choice of shape. I saw a really cute book safe that had a cut out heart in the centre but I knew I would need more space so I choose the regular rectangle. Draw it out to however big you like.

Step two. Using your ruler and blade score off the rectangle shape and begin the labourious job of slicing through the book. I did it quite quickly so mine wasn’t perfect but you can fix that later. Once your happy with the depth of your new cut out rectangle, take the cut out pages and either keep them like I did for future projects (book paper makes great origami cranes you know) or shred for recycling. Step three. Using PVA or whatever glue you choose, stick the first frame down onto the rest of the uncut pages. glue each page down or if that’s taking too long glue a few every couple pf pages and swipe glue along the edges to matt the pages together. *I don’t have a picture but you get the idea*

Step four. This is a little tricky but really simple once you get what i’m trying to say. Take the first page of your book and place it over your cut out pages, mark the indent from the cut out behind your page and draw a criss-cross mark like I have done in that terribly edited picture above! Slice these open carefully so you have four new triangle ‘flaps’. Glue the underneath and stick them down to hide the cut pages underneath. Leave to dry for an hour or however long you like. I just left mine on the radiator and checked it every now and then to make sure it didn’t catch fire! Once dried out use your new secret book safe to hide things like sweet stashes, special things, money…the list is endless! Pop your new ‘book’ back in the shelf with the others and no one will no any better :) Happy Crafting! XO

7 thoughts on “DIY Book safe.

  1. Pingback: submit url
  2. Jon says:

    Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog thus i came to “go back the desire”.I’m attempting to in finding things to improve my site!I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your ideas!!

I love reading all your lovely comments! :] xo